Haven’t Dropped off the Face of the Planet: Millennial Struggles

I’m still here. I feel horrible that it’s been so long since I’ve written a blog post. No worries, I still love my blog and love engaging with my followers. Just busy battling all of lives “wonderful” (sarcasm) challenges.

I tend to forget that as a millennial, I’m part of the most stressed out generation ever! — in all of history. I forget until my husband reminds me and then I add it to my list of things to be stressed out about. I have a pretty good list going. I have found the best way to handle that stress is to focus on each minute of the day as it passes and to ignore the big picture. It doesn’t always work, but sometimes it does.

There’s these charts that they hand out to people when their unemployed and the chart has a line showing what you expect to happen with your career and it’s a perfect diagonal (always moving up the ladder and growing). Then there’s a wavy line that represents how your career will actually develop over time (the line shows growth and then drops down to the land of disappointment and keeps going up and down). Then there’s a shaded area between the two lines that says “This is why you drink.” (when the line drops down). It makes me laugh a little every time. It’s the truth about everything in life, not just the career world. Sadly for me I have headaches quite often and drinking alcohol is just asking for a migraine. And I also don’t think it’s the best idea for my stomach issues.

I’m really putting in my best effort to remove the stressful aspects of my life, yet I’m not seeing any huge changes. I just have to patient, and I’m not.

I started sharing my story of having stomach issues with multiple people in my life and was surprised to find out how many people have gone through endoscopic exams from stomach issues similar to mine. Almost all of them tested positive for acid reflux (which is what my doctor thought I had). Many people I know get migraines and many have had stomach issues. It’s made me wonder… is this because we ate such horrible chemical based foods as kids? Our parents grew up eating healthier wholesome foods and then later started eating the packaged junk and feeding it to us. Now many older people are getting cancer, and adults my age struggle with migraines and acidic stomach problems. One chemical found in most food is finally being eliminated “partially hydrogenated oil.” It’s about time! They finally decided it’s not safe to eat. I eat healthier — more chemical free than just about everyone I know except for maybe 3 or 4 people. So I’m honestly not sure what’s wrong with me, but I won’t give up on figuring it out.

I believe in looking at holistic solutions, not just solving things with pills. So I know I will find a way to get better. It doesn’t make sense to me why people are so against holistic solutions. What is wrong with finding a more natural way to cure something? Doesn’t it make sense that what we put into our bodies effects how we feel and function on many different levels? I believe it’s best to be open to all the different solutions out there.

Maybe all the people my age are having migraines and stomach issues just due to millennials being more stressed. In my honest opinion it’s both.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

