Waking Up to the Lies and Deceit in our World

We are being lied to and deceived on a daily basis by the media, by companies, by everyday people, by the world. Over the past 4 years I’ve slowly been waking up to the TRUTH. I’m not sure how fully awake I am, but I want to be fully awake.

I was asked in a past interview if I was “smart” and inside I was beaming with excitement over this question. My answer was yes (of course) and I knew just what to say for why. I’m not sure if I explained it well. I don’t explain myself that well verbally as I do when I write. About a year and a half ago I would of been stumbling over this question afraid to say the wrong thing. My husband and I have both declared ourselves as smart people because we don’t believe everything we hear and see. We research to find the TRUTH. We are well aware that the world is filled with lies. I don’t know how most people define “smart” – I would be very interested to know. I believe two things make me smart:

1. That I think for myself without influence from other people and other things, and I do research to find the truth about what I hear and what I read.
2. That I look at problems in many different ways and find new perspectives that no one else has taken.

With the internet we can actually uncover the truth buried among all the lies and deceitful information. We can make more informed decisions when we understand what’s really happening in the world around us. Here are the realizations I have come to understand (Many may not apply if you live outside the United States):

Most people would agree the government lies to us – we don’t know if everything they say is true. We question the truth about past history events, what’s happening with other countries, whether they are covering up the truth that we found signs of alien life and many other things…

Most people would agree that politicians lie – although many people still blindly believe everything they hear without digging any further into it. I was once blinded by it all, but my husband and I started paying closer attention and researched to find many real truths. But, even with all the research, even with listening to the unbiased radio and TV networks – sometimes people still deceive us and there’s just no way we could ever know.

We all know there’s lies in advertising or stretched truths. That’s why I read reviews and research my bigger purchases, or purchases that I want to last for 5 or 10 years or however long. Sometimes it’s even popular products that are the biggest waste of money. The Keurig Coffee Makers in my husband and my price range had bad reviews and many people we talked to said their’s didn’t even make a full cup of coffee. We researched and found one that has single serve K-cup capability and grounds, along with a 12-cup pot. It’s a Hamilton Beach product and it works great and does a lot more! But, don’t trust me – research it for yourself if your looking.

We all know too that newspapers lie, TV lies, magazines lie, radio lies. Celebrity news usually has the biggest lies. But, did you know even school textbooks lie too? I learned recently more about the history of America from a documentary and there was a ton of pertinent information left out of my past history books. Some of the information in my text books was altered – lies. Did you know the first slave owner in America was African American? and thousands of free African American’s were in fact slave owners? Look it up – if your interested.

A lot of people don’t realize all the chemicals that are in their food that are doing more harm then good. Low fat and low calorie foods have more ingredients with more chemicals that lead to cancer – they are not healthier for you, just eat less instead. Even if they don’t say “low fat”, “low calories” a lot of foods still have “hydrogenated” and “high fructose corn syrup” ingredients among other chemicals. My husband and I haven’t gone organic, or changed what we eat at restaurants. Instead we avoid anything that has “hydrogenated” or “high fructose corn syrup” in it and always pick the foods with less ingredients. It was a difficult change but it slowly became easier and easier. I feel healthier because of it. But, don’t take my word for it – research it yourself.

Also chemicals like “high fructose corn syrup” actually make you more hungry and keep you from feeling full when you are in fact full. I just recently saw this chemical in a snack bar that is advertised to help your hunger cravings between meals. It does the exact opposite! But, don’t take my word for it – do your own research to make sure I have my facts correct. I’m still learning about what things to avoid. It’s difficult when there are so many healthcare professionals and weight loss people telling us how to eat healthy by advertising foods with chemicals that do the exact opposite.

Then, there’s doctors and psychiatrists who prescribe different medicines that we don’t in fact need. There’s even pills that are suppose to fix problems with ingredients that can actually make that problem worse for some people. When you have the option to choose gel caps or coated pills you should know the gel caps have less ingredients making them more likely to fix the problem instead of causing other problems.

Job interviews are also very deceitful. Companies try to come up with questions to purposely trick us and find hidden meanings in our character and skill set. Some are commonly asked questions and some are rare and you can’t quite prepare for them. After research you will find a lot of them there’s only one way to answer, and you may have to lie to answer the question correctly.

I’m sure there’s plenty more…

Some people don’t care to know, some people want to sleep through life, some are just lazy, some just honestly haven’t looked any deeper yet. I know I feel better about myself, my life, and the choices I make knowing I’m awake and know the TRUTH among many lies.

How awake are you?

Leave a Reply

