To Be Lucky and To Feel Lucky

Roughly a month ago, I wrote a post called “Are you living the life of a lucky person?” If you haven’t read that post it’s about a book I read called “The Luck Factor,” and I said I felt I was neither lucky or unlucky. I set out over the next month to change my luck by following the principles and exercises in the book.

To be completely honest, I didn’t follow all of the exercises like I had planned on doing. Partly, because my summer has been so incredibly busy, I lost my focus on this. But, despite my loss of focus and way of seeing things as neither lucky or unlucky, I do feel luckier. I realized that when so called “bad luck” occurred I was always looking at the bright side of things rather then looking at occurrences as “bad luck.” To give an example of this, I had dropped my credit card at a gas station near work, and was already home when I had realized it. But, I didn’t freak out like I would of in the past. I realized I could easily call my bank and they could deactivate my credit card. I was also optimistic about someone finding it and turning it in. I then proceeded to call the gas station, and found out I was lucky because some nice person found my card on the ground and had handed it to the clerk. Lucky enough my husband and I had also planned on driving somewhere that night and it wasn’t completely out of the way.

I’ve also come to realize even more now how lucky I am to have met my husband in the first place, because like I mentioned in a recent post, he accepts everything about me and all my weird little quirks. And through him I’ve made a lot of great friends that I would have never met, if it weren’t for him.

I’ve also been practicing relaxation techniques and continue to learn more about meditation. I’ve found the relaxation techniques to be truly helpful in reducing my stress levels, along with clearing or organizing the thoughts in my head.

I’ve been reading a lot, and learning new things about myself over the past month. I feel like I’m on the right path toward great satisfaction with my life and myself. To have the time to do that, and a husband who cares more deeply about my happiness more than anything else makes me feel unbelievably lucky.

I have found that the biggest obstacle in my life is my emotions and how I deal with them. I tend to feel emotion about everything that happens to me and everything I do day in and day out. At times it can be very exhausting. But, I’m figuring it out.

The principles in the book “The Luck Factor,” I plan to continuously utilize throughout my life. I do recommend this book to other people who want to increase their luck/general happiness with life.

Leave a Reply

