The Journey Toward Greater Relaxation in Life

I’m on a path of growth. I seek to learn more about life, improve myself, have a greater understanding of who I am and who I want to be. While also taking advantage of any opportunities that come my way. My goal is to increase my happiness now and into the future. To look back without any regrets. This is the journey that I share with you.

If you read my last post: you know that I’m working on improving my luck over the next month. I won’t be sharing what’s all involved in that, but I am sharing this one thing. This is the thing I’m most interested in incorporating into my life over the next month. It’s the art of relaxation.

In two different sub-principles from the luck book it mentions meditation (non-religious mediation). Now I’ve always been somewhat of a skeptic about meditation and I understand if you are too. I’m not even suggesting you try it. Just let me tell you what I’ve learned about it. I’ve been reading a lot of articles and even books lately and it seems to magically appear as an answer to wide variety of things. First, it’s suppose to help with stress. Who doesn’t want to reduce their stress? Secondly, many successful people meditate and agree it’s helped them as a professional. Many lucky people meditate too!  It’s suppose to help you increase your intuition which helps you to make better choices by listening to your gut feelings. Lastly, it’s suppose to help you have a more relaxed attitude toward life. These are the reasons I’m most interested in meditation. But, there are other things it can help with including improving your health.

In “The Luck Factor” it provides a simple relaxation exercise to use whenever your feeling stressed. I’m making in effort to do that exercise several times a week for 20 minutes, and so far I’ve found it to be very helpful to me. I also stumbled across a book on meditation and mindfullness that captivated me after reading just one page. It’s a national bestseller. I’ve just started reading it, and although some of the concepts in it I can’t quite grasp, I love how it has me thinking about life from an entirely new perspective. Among other things it teaches you how to incorporate relaxation techniques into your busy life without taking up too much of your time. It teaches you how to use relaxation techniques even when your in the middle of chores or other activities.

I just learned the meaning of mindfullness. Mindfullness is the intentional, accepting and non-judgmental focus of one’s attention on the emotions, thoughts and sensations occurring in the present moment. It mentions in the book that we spend too much time thinking about the past and the future instead of focusing on the present moment.

I’m very excited for my journey toward greater relaxation, while also learning to live in the present moment.

Leave a Reply

