How I Hate To Say Goodbye (poem)

This is a poem I wrote. I thought I might try something different with this post. Please let me know if you like it. I don’t normally share any of my poems, because I fear they are only good in my mind. 

I wake up every morning to the sound of your voice,
I lay down to dream at night and the world is in reverse.

As I fall asleep I pray for God’s warmth,
To rise up and walk out that door again,
Take’s everything that I am worth.

As I kiss your lips goodbye,
Tears form in my eyes,
I hide the pain I feel inside,
Although, you know it’s all a lie.

As my car rolls down the drive way,
You blow me a kiss goodbye,
You say I love you one last time,
Though, I know you will always be mine.

As I drive away, tears flow down my face,
Our song blasts on the radio,
I then know, God is on our side.
We’ll be together someday,
somehow, someway.

I always wonder what artists write certain poems and songs about, even though I derive my own meaning and emotional response from them. If you leave a comment, I will add that story with our song to this post. If not, that’s fine too. 

Leave a Reply

