Life is a Canvas. What will you paint?

ImageYou can be who you want to be, as long as it’s true to you. You can go anywhere you want to go. You can learn anything you want to learn. The only real limitations you have are the limitations you create for yourself.

I used to be the queen of limitations. I used to feed myself negative thoughts on a regular basis. I mentally beat myself up over just about everything: my physical appearance, my social skills, my mental capabilities, my confusing emotions and how other people saw me. I didn’t realize my biggest problem was internal and not external. Now if you met me and got to know me, I think you would have no idea that I was ever that person. I think..maybe? Except the people closest to me know, that some days I can get caught in that trap of thinking I’m not good enough to do certain things. I still worry sometimes about how other people see me. But, perfection doesn’t exist. It’s more important that I’m growing in the way I view the world.

I recently read “Strength Finders 2.0” and one of the main focuses of that book was that we can’t be anything we want to be, but we can within reason. We can be the greatest version of ourselves by focusing on our strengths. Meaning we can’t be a famous basketball player if we have no athletic capabilities. We can try and maybe come close to achieving those goals, but it’s best to invest our energy into our natural strengths.

What will you use to paint your life canvas? With the internet and all the resources available our ability to learn new things and find information has changed drastically. It’s now incredibly easy to find answers to our most thought provoking questions. We can learn so many new things for free and in the comfort of our own homes. I’ve read many rags to riches stories and the only thing you absolutely need is the drive and determination to make it happen. My last blog post: “Creating a Path to All New Heights” focuses on the necessity of continuously learning and growing.

For some the hardest struggle is figuring out what to paint on their life canvas? What is the right career move for you? Where do you see yourself 5 or 10 years from now? What will make you happy? This is where I tend to struggle, not because I have so few goals, but because I have so many (I will share some of my goals in my next blog post). I’m interested in so many things that I struggle to focus my time and energy on a couple very specific goals. Due to the nature of my personality I’m always thinking about the future. I’m always painting a picture in my mind of my ideal life canvas. I want to have it all figured out now, but life is changing and we are continuously evolving. The canvas will keep on changing. We just need to keep on painting with well thought out goals for our future.

“The world is the way it is because we perceive it that way and because we take action in deciding how we want to live our lives.”
-Jen

Leave a Reply

