Eternal Love: Dreams Do Come True

Ever since I can remember I had one very distinct dream and it was to fall in love with someone who would fight to be with me against all odds.

In a past post “Solving Your Life Puzzle” I mention I was around 8 years old when I started dreaming of love, because I felt alone in the world. I felt like no one understood me. This is my true love story of the one other person in my life I know will be: “Always and Forever There for Me” (this is a follow up to my last blog post).

It was my first year of college and I was living with my best friend who I talked about in my last post. I was dating a guy that I had met in high school and we were drifting apart. I knew this, but couldn’t admit it to myself, because I wanted so badly to be in love and have it last forever. Lots of friendships don’t last, people move away and family members fight a lot. But, a husband (or wife) is someone who is supposed to be there for you against all odds. So, once my relationship ended I was a complete mess.

About two months later I was home for winter break and was back working at the job I had in high school. I worked at a Walgreen’s store and I hated it. The people were horrible and the job was tedious and boring. Two new guys started working there while I was away at college. I decided I should introduce myself to both of them in order to form a good relationship with at least one employee there. One of them walked in and without me noticing his eyes locked on me and he ran directly into a table of candy knocking several pieces to the floor. I didn’t see it happen and so later I walked over and introduced myself. We then became good work friends. I started checking the work calendar to see what days he worked and what days I worked hoping they would overlap. Then, I had to go back to college and we exchanged AOL Instant Messenger screen names (it was the popular form of communication at the time). Wow! That’s old right?

Every time I logged in he would instantly IM me. I started to realize that he wanted to be more than friends. But, I just complained about love and my broken heart which would have sent most guys running. But, he was understanding. We could talk for hours about anything easily. We would share music and fall in love with the songs we shared with one another. He started to feel like another best friend. I was sick of college and needed a weekend away, so I found a ride home and planned a night with just him. It wasn’t supposed to be a date, but somehow it turned into one. He kissed me and I wasn’t ready for it. I went back to college worried our friendship was ruined, because I made it clear I wasn’t happy about it. But, he kept on IM me and we even started talking on the phone.

Spring break finally came and we spent several days together with him continuously trying to charm me, but still allowing us to be friends. Then, I finally realized I wanted more and gave him a kiss on the cheek before he left my house one night. After he got over his shock that his persistence was paying off, he finally asked me to be his girlfriend and gave me a single red rose. I said yes of course and our relationship grew from there. He thought I was worth the 4 hour drive he had to take to visit me at college. Sometimes, we would have to wait 3 weeks to see one another. It didn’t matter what road blocks were in the way or that I was an emotional mess when we met because he knew that there was more to me than that. I was an unpredictable book full of surprises that he couldn’t stay away from and he was a stable rock that I could rely on to keep falling deeper and deeper in love with me. He fell for me while I was at my worst, so I knew right away he would fall in love with me when my best traits shined through. The only question was: Would I fall in love with him too? Would he mend my broken heart?

Yes, I fell deeply in love with him. He was the love I had waited for all my life. He fought to be with me against all odds and didn’t give up easily. And I couldn’t stay away from him, he brought out the best in me and made my spirit come alive. But, I didn’t believe in love at first sight. I still can’t believe he ran into a table at the sight of me.

The summer before my senior year of college he took me out for a play, a fancy dinner and afterward turned on the radio to my favorite station to hear his dedication. A woman read a letter he wrote to me and afterward our song came on the radio and he got down on one knee and proposed. In 2 years we had the most perfect wedding. We have been married for close to three years now and with each passing year we have grown deeper and deeper in love. Life has not always been easy for us, but over time we have learned more about ourselves, discovering even more how perfect we our for one another.

I truly believe our love is eternal. 

I love reading love stories so if you have a great story to share feel free to post a link to your blog site.

Leave a Reply

